Wine Ratings & Reviews

2000 Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend

USA California North Coast Napa

Post your own rating and tasting note on this wine!


Professional Reviews

90 points Robert Parker's Wine Advocate 11/2013
91 points Connoisseurs' Guide, Connoisseur's Guide 8/2003
92 points Stephen Tanzer's IWC 5/2003

Member Reviews


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 2000
Insignia is always good if not great wine!
Adam
Adam

Rated  on Jan 08, 2009

I've enjoyed Insignia several times, maybe 5 or 6 (no expert), but no matter which vintage it's always good if not great!  I found Joseph Phelps some 15 years or so back (when it was small) and I loved their Le Mistral when it was $15 bucks.  This is how I found them and their Insignia premium wine.  The 2000, as the others have reviewed it, isn't Phelps' best Insignia, but it won't disappoint you either.  It's got great balance, taste and is smooth.  Nice wine!

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 2000
2000 Joseph Phelps Insignia...Not too bad!
Silverio R.
Silverio R.

Rated  on Dec 27, 2008

Tasted the 2000 Insignia on Christmas eve and was pleasantly surprised.  I wasn't expecting much since it is not one of the more highly rated vintages but I really enjoyed it.  The nose was nice with hints of berries and smoke.  The taste has vanilla scents along with coffee...very nice!  I thought that it was very good for a 2000.  I enjoyed it and you may too!

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 2000
Good but Overpriced
Vanessa W.
Vanessa W.

Rated  on May 25, 2008

Great fruit from this exceptional blend wine.  The vanilla oak is also exceptional and well integrated into the wine and not dominating. This wine does shine in an off vintage but its still way overpriced.

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine Proprietary Blend 2000
from Insignia Vertical
Mike P.
Mike P.

Rated  on May 24, 2008

Another wine that reminded me of the '98. Great nose, good minerality, great red fruit/cherry. Some tar and lead pencil? A very nice showing for the vintage indeed

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Network Reviews

Very nice but just lacked depth
Score: 91 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 9/28/08. This is not a value wine. It is nonetheless a nice wine that does not come close to hitting better years of Insignia nor competing with the better Napa wines of the inconsistent `00 vintage. The color is typical of modern Insignia - deep purple, but it lacks the depth of fruit or complexity of the better vintages.
Posted by mxpbuy on September 30, 2008
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
As Bad As The 2000 Vintage Should Be
Score: 90 points
Drink by: 8 to 12 years
The 2000 vintage does not do justice to the notoriously masculine Insignia. Save your money. Don`t buy this wine. Wait until March and buy the 2001 Insignia. 2000 Insignia was boring. I think water has more body than the 2000. Lacked a flavor of anything and smelled like cardboard.

It would be a better idea to spend the same amount of money and only get "three" 2001 Insignia`s than to opt for "six" 2000 Insignia`s.

I wouldn`t pay more than $70 per bottle.
Posted by c0kleima on February 11, 2004
View all reviews by c0kleima
 
Search wine prices for 2000 Phelps, Joseph Insignia Proprietary Red Wine on WineZap
Spider Trap