Wine Ratings & Reviews

1985 Moet Chandon Dom Perignon Champagne Blend

France Champagne

Post your own rating and tasting note on this wine!


Professional Reviews

90 points Wine Spectator 10/1995
96 points Robert Parker's Wine Advocate 12/1994

Member Reviews


Moet Chandon Dom Perignon Champagne Blend 1985
"Its GRREAT"
Lesley L.
Lesley L.

Rated  on Dec 27, 2008

"This wine is the best of the best." People don't realize that it is a professional wine.

1 Toast     Toast this Review


Network Reviews

Dom Perignon '85 in MAGNUM
Score: 97 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 10/17/10 in MAGNUM. Still a strong bead. The color has turned golden. A little hazelnut, dried orange peel, some dried lemon peel, perfect sugar and acid balance, some caramel, wonderful length. This well stored magnum had at least another 3 to 5 years in it.
Posted by mxpbuy on October 18, 2010
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
A little different than our last bottle.
Score: 94 points
Drink by: 3 to 7 years
Sampled 2/14/07. The color was not as dark as our last `85 and the nuttiness was more subdued. It probably had another 5+ years to it. The green apples were clearly present but the acid balance in this bottle seemed a bit more punctuated and the overall tart fruit element to the wine a bit bigger and bolder and not as rounded as other bottles of this vintage that I have had in the past couple years. Nonetheless, a great example of DP at the top of its game.
Posted by mxpbuy on February 15, 2007
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
The '85 Dom... Yum Yum...
Score: 96 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
My dalliances with Dom Perignon have not been fantastic - I tend to prefer the efforts of Charles Krug. However, this champagne is fantastic, and worth every penny. It is extremely arromatic, offering hints of wheat, passion fruit, and roasted nuts. It is Medium to full-bodied, with crisp acidity, and comes across as wildly zesty, and incredibly long on the palate. Moet-Chandon deserves major props for this near-legendary example of Dom Perignon.
Posted by anonymous on January 13, 2005
 
1985 Dom Perignon
Score: 98 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
A remarkable acheivement in sparkling wine. This wine has had enough time to age properly in bottle and is currently drinking amazingly well. The first taste out of the bottle was the best, a huge nose of figs and fresh dough dominate. The flavors of aged oak were totally subdued and finessed, while slight notes of quince and citrus followed a strong oaked flavor. If you own this wine open it and drink it.
Posted by dschufman on September 7, 2004
View all reviews by dschufman
 
Best Dom Ever?
Score: 97 points
Drink by: Now to 2 years
Sampled 5/2/04. I had this wine one year ago and we opened my last 2 bottles last night. This is probably the best Dom you can find that is still drinking well. More complex than the 1990 but just as traditionally delicate yet full bodied. (I find the 1990 the second best vintage of all Doms still drinking well and in circulation.) It`s hard to tell how much longer the 1985 will hold up (as I`ve had the 1980 which was clearly on the downside a year ago), so I suggest drinking up in the relatively near future.
Posted by mxpbuy on May 3, 2004
View all reviews by mxpbuy
 
Search wine prices for 1985 Moet Chandon Dom Perignon on WineZap
Spider Trap